Anonymous

How do you know if someone blocked you on Kakaotalk?

2 Answers

Emily Rivers Profile
Emily Rivers answered

KakaoTalk doesn't have a function that can tell you whether someone's blocked you, but according to a website I found, there is a way to find out whether someone has blocked you on KakaoTalk.

It takes just a few steps to find out whether someone has blocked you on KakaoTalk:

1. Open a 1:1 chat with the person you think might have blocked you.

2. Write a message to the person, and wait to see if they read it. If they never read the message, it could be that they have blocked you.

3. Invite another person to the chat to enable a group chat.
Write a message, and keep an eye on the number of participants it says at the top of the chat.

4. If it doesn't stay at '3' and drops down to '2', that means that the person you were suspicious of has blocked you, because it will not allow you to see messages between one another.

At the moment, this is the only way that you can tell whether someone has blocked you on KakaoTalk. If you can't do it this way, then you'll probably have to do what Bianca says - ask them the old-fashioned way!

Don't get too worried about whether you've been blocked on KakaoTalk. If your messages simply are not delivering to the person, it could be that they:

  • have deleted the app
  • are having problems with their internet connection
  • haven't charged their phone
  • have changed phone numbers or devices

So, it's not all doom and gloom. If you really need to contact them, perhaps try asking a mutual friend whether they can get in touch with them. Hopefully it will all work out!

You probably know how to use KakaoTalk, but I found this video about all of its different features. It has really cute cartoon characters!

Bianca da Silva Profile
Bianca da Silva answered

It’s not possible to find out if someone has blocked you on Kakaotalk – at least, not for sure.

When someone is blocked on this service, they can still find the contact in their contacts list and send them messages, but these won’t be delivered. This basically means that the other person will not be contacting you after you’ve been blocked.

The bad news is that there might be other reasons for the person not contacting you. They might have lost their phone, changed their number or even deleted the service. Sometimes, this causes them to be deleted from your friend’s list or contacts, but not always.

Just like many other services, Kakaotalk does not announce to someone that they have been blocked, because this is an invasion of privacy of sorts, and it will just make people think twice about using the service.

So really, your best option is to use the old fashioned technique of just asking them in person!

Answer Question

Anonymous