If you went to their profile name under a new different username, then yes, you wouldn't be blocked and you could chat.
Otherwise if you were able to reach them under your same username then they must have unblocked you. By the way, blocking on KIK doesn't do much. It just prevents the person from seeing the content you posted. Once they unblock you, everything you tried to post to them while blocked is easily viewable.